sets the flag that enables or disables the undo system. When you turn the undo system off, all the recorded actions are discarded, and the undo buffers are reset.
If you invoke
DoUndo with no arguments, it will toggle the flag. If you
specify 0 or 1, the flag will be set to false or true, respectively. A lower
case ‘u’ will appear on the status bar if the flag is true. (The
‘U’ will be upper case if the flag is true and the
level is non-zero.)
The usefulness of this option relies in the fact that the undo system is a major memory eater. If you plan to do massive editing (say, cutting and pasting megabytes of text) it is a good idea to disable the undo system, both for improving (doubling) performance and for using less (half) memory. Except for this, on a virtual memory system we see no reason to not keep the undo flag always true, and this is indeed the default.